Staying In The Mess

Published November 29, 2016 by courtshippers

Within the first few weeks of my courtship with J, nearly two whole years a go now, a friend of mine really caused a distance between us to the point I honestly felt like I was being cheated on (I wasn’t, but those were my feelings at the time). I remember crying myself to sleep at night and asking God if I should leave and walk away, but I never felt that was right. Instead, I knew God wanted me to stay and fight for what He had put together.

It took me a while, but eventually I got strong enough to tell J how I felt about everything with this girl and he was shocked. He didn’t realize what it was all causing me and action was soon taken to eliminate the girl from the equation and here we are today.

Whenever a trial comes up, whenever we see something we don’t like in our partner/spouse, our first reaction is to walk away, right?

Yes, that’s perfectly human, but we need to remember that we as Christians are called to staying in the mess and making a stand for God.

When you tell someone “I love you”, you’re not telling them “I love only this, this and this about you and not the rest” or, “you can be like this around me and I’ll love you but as soon as I see that, I’m outta here” but when the going gets tough, how quick are we to think along those lines?

Love is a full time commitment, not a feeling. I can’t imagine that God’s always always thinking about how He wants to cuddle us or something and the Israelite’s are a great example of that. To many mistakes brought God to wrath but at the intervention of Moses He receded.

It’s okay to get angry at the one you love. Anger is a part of the human experience, however it’s when we let that anger rule and unforgiveness boil up that we put our relationships in difficult situations.

Just because you and your partner/spouse fight does not mean it’s a broken relationship. It’s been proven that couples that fight have healthier relationships then ones that don’t. But my challenge for everyone is that we start accepting each other’s differences and love them just as much as we love ourselves and Jesus. My challenge is that we stop fighting each other (disagreements are not the same as fighting) and start fighting against Satan who threatens to tear us a part.

 

GOD BLESS XX

~ C

 

fierce_marriage_love_says_seen_ugly_staying_ryan_frederick_selena_frederick

Leave a comment